On Wednesday will see the start of the European Championships A for both men and women in Adeje, Tenerife.

Eighteen teams from twelve nations will battle it out for the title of European Champions across ten days of competition.

The European Championships A is the qualification tournament for the 2018 World Championships taking place in Hamburg next year, so there is a lot at stake for the teams taking part. With Germany automatically qualified as hosts, the top six men’s teams will earn the right to play at the Worlds, whilst only one out of the six women’s teams competing at the Europeans will miss out.

The men’s competition will see twelve teams split into two pools of six for the preliminary round, with the top four in each pool progressing to the knock-out stages.

In group A hosts Spain will meet Switzerland first, as well as coming up against The Netherlands, Italy, Poland, and France. Group B sees Great Britain, looking for a fourth European title in a row, up against Turkey, Germany, Israel, Sweden and newly promoted Lithuania.

The women’s competition will see all six teams, Spain, Great Britain, The Netherlands, Germany, Turkey
and France compete in a round robin, before the top four teams go on to the semi-finals.

For full schedule click here.