The schedule for the 2017 Africa World Championship Qualifiers (#AWQ2017) has been confirmed.

Wheelchair Basketball South Africa will host the tournament in Durban, which is set to commence on Saturday 18th November.

Thirty-six games will be played across seven days at the Tongaat Indoor Sports Centre, City of Ethekwini, KwaZulu-Natal.

With only one spot for the men and one spot for the women to represent the African Zone at the World Championships in Hamburg, Germany next year, there is a lot at stake.

The organisation and schedule of the tournament have faced disruptions due to the late withdrawal of Ghana and Nigeria from the competition.

South Africa, Egypt, Morocco, Algeria, Kenya, Angola and Zimbabwe will play a round robin format in the men’s competition to determine who reaches the semi-finals.

In the women’s competition, the four teams set to compete are South Africa, Algeria, Zimbabwe and Kenya.

Algeria will be looking to defend both their men’s and women’s title from the 2015 competition.

Men’s schedule and statistics Women’s schedule and statistics

Click here to download the pdf version of the 2017 IWBF Africa World Championship Qualifier