Following a successful selection camp in Bad Honnef, Team Germany women’s head coach Martin Otto has now named his first eleven players, who will represent Germany at the 2018 World Championships, in Hamburg between 16th – 26th August this summer.

The final place in the German squad, will be decided at their training camp in Australia between on 15th – 28th May.

Martin Otto and his co-trainer Janet McLachlan put the squad through its paces, with the intense training units and strong screening results proving that all the invited athletes worked hard in the national team break and made a huge leap forward.

In addition to experienced veterans and long-time achievers like Annabel Breuer, Johanna Welin, Laura Fürst, Maya Lindholm, Mareike Miller or Marina Mohnen, two rookies made it this time again in the squad. Lisa Nothelfer from the RBC Köln 99ers and Svenja Mayer from the Rhine River Rhinos celebrate their debut for German ladies.

The last space in the 12-member World Championships squad will be awarded in Australia to either Katharina Lang (4.5 / University of Alabama) or Lena Knippelmeyer (4.5 / RSC Osnabrück).  Unfortunately, Anne Brießmann was unavailable, due to a lengthy hand-wound as a result of a car accident. The reserves are Andrea Seyrl (2.0 / Hannover United) and Anne Gerwinat (1.5 / Alba Berlin).

Head Coach, Martin Otto said, “I think we have put together a good mix of experienced athletes and young junior players. Marina has currently not yet reached her full fitness level due to some back problems, so we rest her for the camp in Australia but I’m optimistic that we can count on her completely. For Anne, I am very sorry that the injury compels her to be unavailable because she can always contribute with her calm and experience which is an important part of success. All in all, I am very satisfied with the last few days and I am excited about the spirit that already dominates the team.”

The squad now has to be confirmed by DBS, the German disabled sports federation.

World Championship squad of the German women’s national team (player / year / classification / club):

Anne Patzwald – 1989 – 1.0 – BG Baskets Hamburg
Lisa Nothelfer – 1993 – 1.0 – RBC Cologne 99ers
Catharina White – 2000 – 1.0 – Sabers Ulm
Annabel Breuer – 1992 – 1.5 – RSV Lahn Dill
Laura Fürst – 1991 – 2.0 – RBB Munich Iguanas
Johanna Welin – 1984 – 2.0 – RBB Munich Iguanas
Maya Lindholm – 1990 – 2.5 – BG Baskets Hamburg
Svenja Mayer – 1991 – 2.5 – Rhine River Rhinos
Barbara Gross – 1993 – 4.5 – University of Alabama
Mareike Miller – 1990 – 4.5 – BG Baskets Hamburg
Marina Mohnen – 1978 – 4.5 – Rhine River Rhinos