Argentina men’s Head Coach, Mauro Varela, has announced the list of players that will participate in the Wheelchair Basketball World Championships 2018, which will take place between the 16th to the 26th August in Hamburg, Germany.

This will be Argentina’s third appearance at a World Championships and will look to better their highest finish of 10th in Edmonton in 1994. They will be tested in the opening rounds in Germany against Australia, the Netherlands, and Spain in Group D.

The 12 players selected are:

Alberto Esteche (2.0)
Fernando Ovejero (3.0)
Joel Gabas (4.0)
Franco Alessandrini (1.0)
Gustavo Villafañe (1.0)
Nicolas Valenzuela (1.0)
Maximiliano Ruggeri (2.5)
Daniel Copa (4.5)
Cristian Gomez (4.5)
Adrian Perez (3.0)
Adolfo Berdun (3.5)
Ivan Gomez (3.0)

Argentina’s Head Coach, Mauro Varela said, “We want to have enough weapons to be a competitive team and we have to show it on the court. We are in Group D with Spain, Australia and Netherlands, three great teams that have been in preparing since April of this year with friendly games. The reality for Argentina, is that we cannot prepare in this sense, so therefore we have to be positive and learn to grow in the game as well as enjoy the experience of the World Championship event “

Argentina will start their World Championship’s campaign on Friday 17th August against Australia.

Spanish translation –

Image and wording courtesy of