Eight countries from South America are set to compete at the Men’s 2018 South America Championship.

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela will all be fighting it out for three places in the men’s wheelchair basketball competition at Lima 2019 Parapan American Games.

The Men’s 2018 South Americas Championships, hosted by the Federación Deportiva Nacional de Personas con Discapacidad Física (FEDENADIF), will take place over six days, between the 2nd December – 7th December in Lima, Peru.

The eight teams will be split over two pools playing a preliminary round to determine the quarter-final placings. In pool A reigning champions Argentina will take on Uruguay, Chile, and Bolivia, whilst hosts Peru are up against Brazil, Colombia, and Ecuador in pool B.

The top three teams will secure a place at next year’s Parapan American Games joining Canada, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, and the USA already confirmed.

A team of twenty-one will make up the International Technical Officials at the Championships. Canada’s Steve Bach will be Technical Delegate supported by fellow Canadian Maureen Orchard as Assistant Technical Delegate.

Nine international referees, Karen Molina (COL), Alex Lapointe (CAN), Mauricio Gamez (CRC), Cristian Colombatti (ARG), Matias Quintana (ARG), Joao Fortes (BRA), Gustavo Mathias (BRA), Enzo Fernandez (CHI), Pedro Vasquez (CHI), will make up the game crews responsible for managing the games. They will be joined by five-referee candidates Ardavan Eizadirad (CAN), Rocco LaMacchia (USA), Rachel Kimball (USA), Paula Castro (CHI) and Ivonne Pazmiño Celi (ECU).

Jorge Bestilleiro (ARG) will be the Referee Supervisor working with Juan Magallanes (MEX) as Commissioner, both will also be Referee Instructors at the championships.

Karen Ferguson (CAN), will act as Chief Classifier and work alongside classifiers Sonia Ribeiro (BRA) and Victor Gill (PER).

Watch all the action from the Championships live via Inspira TV Peru


Download the full schedule.