Gold medallists Philip Pratt and Gregg Warburton where named in the 2019 Men’s European Championship All-Star Five on Sunday at the closing ceremony in Wałbrzych, Poland.

Captain of Great Britain, Pratt, not only led his team to their seventh European gold medal but was also a key playmaker for GB creating opportunities for his teammates averaging a double-double per game with 11.5 points and 10 assists.

Warburton, who was also nominated in the 2018 World Championship All-Star team, proved himself influential again for GB, this time on the European stage, a menace to the other teams as he averaged the most steals per game for the tournament, and 12.3 points per game.

Alejandro Zarzuela was also recognised for his key part in helping Spain get to a European Final for the first time in 24 years, averaging a double-double of 16.4 points and 10.8 rebounds per game, the most of any player in the tournament.

In his first major tournament since coming out of international retirement, Germany’s Dirk Passiwan proved to be a vital asset to his team and this was reflected in his selection in the All-Star Five. Passiwan was second in the leading points scorers for the competition with 156 points, averaging 19.5 points a game, with 9.6 assists and 7.6 rebounds per game.

Finishing off the All-Star Five was one of the best low pointers in the world, Turkey’s Ismail Ar. He proved a constant threat with the off-the-ball work he does and experience he brings to his team, scoring an average 8 points a game, including 20 points in the semi-final game vs GB.

This tournament’s All-Star Five selection consisted of the coaches from each team nominating their players of the tournament, with the number of votes for each player being accumulated by the Technical Delegate of the competition, thus forming the All-Star Five which added up to a maximum of 14 points.

Germany’s Aliaksandr Halouski was also awarded the top scorer of the tournament prize by the Championship sponsor GTM Mobil scoring 162 points and averaging 20.3 points a game.


Picture courtesy of SA Images. Pictured from Left to Right – Philip Pratt, Alejandro Zarzuela, Ismail Ar, Gregg Warburton, Dirk Passiwan