A new Executive Council for IWBF Africa was elected at their Zone Congress which took place on Saturday 7th March at the 2020 IWBF Afro Paralympic Qualifiers in Johannesburg.

South Africa’s Charles Saunders was elected as the new President of the Zone replacing Hamid El Aouni from Morocco. He has stepped up to President from the role of Technical Officer for the Zone which he previously held. Saunders, who has an extensive background in the sport of both wheelchair basketball and running basketball, is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Wheelchair Basketball South Africa.

There were also three new Vice Presidents elected representing the three regions of Africa: Cherih Hamza (Algeria) – Vice President North; Sibogile Fondinii (South Africa) – Vice President South; and Alfred Simiyu (Kenya) – Vice President Central.

International Referee Mahmoud Hassan from Egypt was elected to fill the vacant role of Technical Officer. Loleta Krige of South Africa remained in her position as Classification Officer.

Following the election of the new Executive Council, South Africa’s Andrew Schoeman was appointed as the new Secretary General of the Zone, replacing fellow South African Shawn Moorgas, who stepped down from the role after 10 years in the position.

IWBF Secretary General, Norbert Kucera, said:

“It was of real value to be able to attend the IWBF Africa Zone Workshop and Zone Congress. Africa is a key area we are looking to develop wheelchair basketball, so to be able to meet and discuss the needs of our members in the zone is beneficial.

“On behalf of IWBF, I would like to congratulate and wish the new Executive Council all the best with their endeavours over the next four years and I look forward to working with them.

“ I also extend our thanks to the departing Zone President, Hamid El Aouni, and Zone Secretary General, Shawn Moorgas, who have dedicated an enormous amount of time and energy despite challenging landscapes to ensure the sport continued to function at an international level.”

Newly elected IWBF Africa President, Charles Saunders, added:

“It is an absolute honour to have the confidence of the Zones NOWB’s to take Africa forward over the next 4 years. There is much work to be done especially in development of administrators, technical officials and coaches. 
“It is the mandate of my Executive that we be held accountable in identifying and rectifying the failings of the past and  drive the campaign in registering new and updated membership.
“Furthermore,  we prioritised the restructuring of the Zone into more manageable regions and this will assist with establishing better competition protocols, as well as enabling youth and women development. The macro management of working commissions in each of the five African Regions, will now spread the administration burden and ensure uniformity in implementation.
“We are fully aware of the grave challenges that are placed before us and will systematically grow the Zone in line with our 4 year project plan. 
“In the iconic words of Nelson Mandela, Sport has the power to change the World, we believe It’s not just a game, it’s a way of life!”

IWBF Africa Executive Council 2020-2024

Charles Saunders (RSA) – President
Cherih Hamza (ALG) – Vice President North
Alfred Simiyu (KEN) – Vice President Central
Sibogile Fondinii (RSA) – Vice President South
Mahmoud Hassan (EGY) – Technical Officer
Loleta Krige (RSA) – Classification Officer
Andrew Schoeman (RSA) – Secretary General

IWBF Africa elect new Executive Council. (Pictured from Left to Right)⁣ ⁣Mahmoud Hassan, ⁣Charles Saunders, ⁣Cherih Hamza, ⁣Loleta Krige, ⁣Sibogile Fondinii