The fixture list for the 2021 National Wheelchair Basketball League (NWBL) has been released, with the season to tip off the weekend of 28 – 30 May.

After the 2020 season was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year the regular season will consist of 30 games in total, contested as clusters over four weekends in Wollongong, Sydney, Perth and Brisbane. Darwin will host the entire Finals Series from 16 – 18 July.

With the rescheduled 2020 Tokyo Paralympics to occur 24 August – 5 September, the 2021 NWBL season will serve as important preparation for this tournament and other international wheelchair basketball events scheduled for later this year.

Basketball Australia General Manager – Game Development & Wheelchair Programs, Leigh Gooding said:

“Basketball Australia is delighted to be able to confirm that the National Wheelchair Basketball League for men is going ahead in a condensed, cluster format in 2021.

“After the league was cancelled last year due to border restrictions and the lockdown in Victoria, everyone is eager and raring to go this year.

“With the Paralympics fast approaching, this year’s league is vital to the Rollers’ preparations and will see athletes pushing for selection in the final team for Tokyo.

“The Australian Under-23 squad, the Spinners will also be one of the teams in this year’s league, which will provide additional competition for the country’s emerging athletes and all competing in the competition.

“We are very much looking forward to the commencement of the 2021 National Wheelchair Basketball League later this month.”

The five teams playing in the 2021 NWBL are: Queensland Spinning Bullets, Perth Wheelcats, Spinners (Australian Under-23 squad), Sydney Metro Blue Hornets, and the Wollongong Rollerhawks.

Details regarding the 2021 Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball tournament will be announced in due course.

Find the 2021 NWBL fixture HERE