The inaugural IWBF Players’ Commission has been named. Eight players will make up the new Commission, established to give international wheelchair basketball players a platform and a common voice in the governance of global wheelchair basketball.

Paralympians Annegrit Brießmann (Germany), Hiroaki Kozai (Japan), and John Boie (USA), and 3X3 International Michelle Moganedi (South Africa) will join the original four players who were part of the IWBF Athlete Steering Committee – Ella Sabljak (Australia), Terry Bywater (Great Britain), Alhassan Sedky (Egypt), and Erica Gavel (Canada).

The IWBF Players’ Commission election process was opened in November 2021 and following the nomination procedure, IWBF received four candidates. Each of the four Zones had exactly one candidate, all meeting the criteria and representing the specific requirements of the IWBF Players’ Commission Policy. On account of only one candidate per Zone and a low number of international players registered to vote in the planned election, the IWBF Executive Council decided in an online meeting on Friday 28 January 2022 to appoint the four candidates by acclamation.

The composition of the commission is equal across all four Zones with two players per Zone, one male, one female, and no more than one representative per country.

IWBF President Ulf Mehrens said:

“I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all eight players who have been appointed onto the IWBF Players’ Commission. They have put themselves forward to be part of this very important step in the history of IWBF. We are extremely pleased to have equal representation giving us different insights and perspectives of the global landscape, as we try to create continuous and meaningful engagement with the players in the IWBF structures and governance.

“We would also like to reiterate our thanks to those who registered to vote and for their interest in the IWBF Players’ Commission.”

If players wish to liaise with the Commission, or if you require any support or guidance, please contact the IWBF Players’ Commission via the e-mail

Over the next week IWBF will be profiling the new members of the Commission.