The culmination of the 2024 IWBF Asia Oceania Championships brings not only the excitement of intense competition but also the recognition of standout performers through the prestigious All-Star Five and Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards. In a nod to individual excellence and outstanding contributions to their teams, the following players have been hailed as the best in their respective categories:

Men’s All-Star Five:

Jun Seong Kwak (Korea)  (1.0 – 1.5 Classification)

Kwak’s resilience and strategic brilliance in the 1.0-1.5 category were crucial in guiding Korea to a well-deserved bronze medal.

Renshi Chokai (Japan) (2.0 – 2.5 Classification)

Despite a comparatively quiet tournament by his standards, Chokai’s work rate for Japan earned him recognition as the best in the 2.0-2.5 category.

Qin Xulei (China) (3.0 – 3.5 Classification)

The lesser-known player emerged as a surprise standout, showcasing exceptional playmaking skills and claiming the title of leading free throw scorer for the tournament assisted him to be recognised in the 3.0-3.5 category.

Mohamadhassan Sayari (Iran) – 4.0 – 4.5

Sayari’s influence on the court, averaging an impressive 16.1 points per game, made a significant impact in the 4.0-4.5 category.

Most Valuable Player: Bill Latham (Australia)

Latham’s consistent excellence throughout the tournament, with an average of 15.6 points and 12.4 rebounds per game over eight matches, earned him the well-deserved title of Most Valuable Player.

As a testament to the diversity of talent in the Asia-Oceania region, each awardee has showcased exceptional skills and dedication to their respective teams.The All-Star Five, voted on by the participating teams, aims to recognize the best player in each sporting class, while the MVP title crowns the overall standout player of the tournament.

The 2024 IWBF Asia Oceania Championships have not only been a platform for fierce competition but also a celebration of the athletes who have left an indelible mark on the tournament. Congratulations to Jun Seong Kwak, Renshi Chokai, Qin Xulei, Mohamadhassan Sayari, and Bill Latham for their contributions to the Championships.

Photo Credit: X-1/IWBF