The final day of the Centro Basket 2016 BSR in Costa Rica opened with the bronze medal game between El Salvador and Nicaragua.

With a spot to the Americas Cup in 2017 on the line both teams came to play. The game was close throughout with first quarter going to Nicaragua by just two points, 12 – 10. El Salvador fought back to take the lead winning the second quarter, 20 – 8, and make the half time score 30 -20 to El Salvador.

In the second half Nicaragua brought it back to within in six points at the end of the third quarter quarter. However, El Salvador pulled away in the fourth outscoring Nicaragua again, 14 -8, to win the game 58 – 46 and take home not just the bronze medal but also a place in the Americas Cup next year.

El Salvador’s top scorers were Rafael Melgar and Henry Ganuza Ayala with 18 points each. Whilst for Nicaragua Ariel Calderon top scored with 12 points and Carlos Alegría and Manuel Ulloa added 10 points apiece.

In the second game of the day Costa Rica and Guatemala played for fifth place in front of an enthusiastic crowd. Costa Rica led 20 -17 at the end of the half on the back of strong shooting from Kenneth Gonzalez (8 points).

The second half the teams traded baskets but Guatemala finished the third quarter ahead, 31 – 29. Boosted by the home crowd in the fourth Costa Rica came back to win the game, 46 – 38.

Top scorers for Costa Rica were Kenneth Gonzalez with 19 points and Carlos Cordoncillo with 12 points. Guatemala’s top scorer was Juan Buch with 22 points.

In the gold medal game Puerto Rico came out of the blocks and surprised Mexico shooting out to a 27 – 21 lead at half time on the strength of a 14 point first half by Carlos Martinez.  But it was Mexico who came back in the second half, with quarter scores of 22 – 9 and 17 – 12 they secured victory with a final score of 59 – 48, and to win the Centro Basket 2016 Costa Rica BSR (Central American and Caribbean Championships).

Top scorers for Mexico are Efrain Martínez and Edgar Perdomo with 15 points each followed closely by Julio César Fonseca with 14 points. For Puerto Rico Carlos Martinez top scored with 20 points and Carlos Ocasio with 13 points.

  • At the end of the tournament awards went to Costa Rica’s Kenneth Gonzalez for being the top points scorer of the championships with 139 points.
  • Efrain Martinez from Mexico won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award.
  • And the award for the best sportsmanship went to Puerto Rico’s Carlos Ocasio.