Unfortunately, due to a serious conflict in dates between the tournament hotel and playing venue, the dates for the Americas Cup have needed to be changed. The Americas Cup will now take place between 21st – 31st August 2017.

The Local Organising Committee (LOC) considered all possibilities to try and resolve the issue to accommodate the event on the original dates, however none would have produced a satisfactory outcome to allow them to do this. As a result, a date change was agreed.

IWBF Americas and the LOC apologise for any inconvenience this might cause.

The Americas Cup will still take place in Cali, Colombia, with the top ten men’s teams and the top eight women’s teams in the America’s Zone competing for spots at the World Championships to be held in Hamburg, Germany in August 2018.

The Men’s teams that have qualified for the America’s Cup include Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, El Salvador, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, USA and Venezuela.

Qualification for the women’s teams remains ongoing. The tournament will include two teams from North America, two teams from Central America and the Caribbean, and four teams from South America.  The women’s teams qualifying for the America’s Cup will be confirmed by April 30, 2017.