The Puerto Rico Wheelchair Basketball Federation (FEBASIRUPR) celebrated the “Puerto Rico Wheelchair Basketball Week” from the 15th – 21st May 2017. The week culminated in an International 3×3 Wheelchair Basketball Tournament.

The annual 3×3 tournament which was introduced in 2011 is a reduced version of the 5×5 game, still played on a full-size court with two baskets, but consists of two periods of seven minutes and allows a total of up to 9.5 points on court per team.

Seven teams from Puerto Rico and the United States took part in the tournament over two days of action, 20th & 21st May. During the tournament there were competitions in fast breaks, free throws, three-point shots and “hot shots”.

The tournament ceremony, held on Saturday 20th May, included the presence of members from the Puerto Rican Government; Ricardo Rossello Nevarez, Governor, who officially announced the celebration of the sport, and Gil Urbina, Assistant Secretary of Sports and Recreation Department. The FEBASIRUPR Executive Committee were also recognised at the ceremony.

Referees at the event were Axel Coll, Héctor Fernández, Jose Rivera, Ricardo Flores, and Carmelo de la Rosa. The officials were Myrna Arroyo, Joann Rodriguez, Rosa Rivera, Elias Mangual, Evelyn Nieves, Jean Barea, Gabriela Maldonado, Alexander Oneill, and Reynaldo Andaluz.

Final Team Ranking:

  1. Handilife: Carlos Alberto Ocasio, Carlos Cano Martinez, Adam Cruz, Orlando V Perez
  2. United Ricans: Michael Thompkins, Josh Rodriguez, Jeremy Skinner, Zach Blair
  3. Ovejas Negras: Jesus A. Cruz, Danny Colon, Kermit Vazquez, Marcos Hernandez
  4. La Familia: Ralffy Diaz, Carlos Soto, Carlos Pijuan, Manuel Pena
  5. MVP Ballers: Giovanni Perez, Quito Padua, Keneth Diaz, Ramon Uribe

Team Development Consolation: Pasion BSR

Pasion BSR (1): Neydiann De Gracia, Jose R. Ortega, Joann Rodriguez

Pasion BSR (2): Xian Sosa, Jose M. Calderon, Dilka J. Benitez Ortiz

For more information please download full report.