With all the Zonal Championships now complete, the field for the Wheelchair Basketball World Championships 2018 is now set.

Sixteen men’s teams and twelve women’s teams will compete in Hamburg, Germany next year between 16th – 26th August.

Reigning World Champions Australia men will be looking to bounce back from their disappointing finish at Rio 2016 to defend their title. They qualified along with Iran, Japan and South Korea from the Asia Oceania Zone, whilst the women’s teams from China and Australia also made it.

In the Americas Zone, both the men’s and women’s teams from Argentina, Brazil, Canada and USA all booked their place at the World Championships.

Seven men’s teams and five women’s teams qualified from the European Zone. Hosts Germany receive an automatic spot for both their men’s and women’s teams, and they are joined by men’s teams from Turkey, Great Britain, The Netherlands, Spain, Poland, and Italy and women’s teams from The Netherlands, Great Britain, France and Spain.

Morocco men caused an upset in the Africa Qualifiers as they knocked out favourites Algeria to clinch a place at the World’s, together with Algeria women.

Here is the breakdown of how the teams qualified:



Host: Germany
Europe: Turkey, Great Britain, The Netherlands, Spain, Poland, Italy
Americas: United States, Canada, Brazil, Argentina
Asia Oceania: Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea
Africa: Morocco


Host: Germany
Europe: The Netherlands, Great Britain, France, Spain
Americas: Canada, United States, Brazil, Argentina
Asia Oceania: China, Australia
Africa: Algeria

The draw for the World Championships 2018 will take place in the host city at the end of January.

For more information about the World Championships 2018 please visit the website.