IWBF Europe have announced the allocations for the 2019 Euro League competition.

Fifty-five club teams from across Europe will take part in the biggest wheelchair basketball inter-continental club competition.

The preliminary rounds of the Champions League will take place between Thursday 31st January to Sunday 3rd February in Italy, Germany and Israel, as clubs RSV Lahn-Dill (GER), UnipolSai Briantea84 Cantu (ITA) and Ilan Ramat Gan (ISR) all host a round.

The top two teams from each round will then go through to the quarter-finals of the Champions Cup which will be held from Friday 7th March to Sunday 10th March, hosted by both finalists of the 2018 Champions Cup, Spain’s CD Illunion and Germany’s RSB Thuringia Bulls.

The preliminary rounds of Euro League 1, 2 and 3  will also take place on the same weekend,  between Thursday 7th March to Sunday 10th March 2018.

Pilatus Dragons RCSZ (SUI) will again host one of the groups in Euro League 1 alongside, Interwetten-Coloplast Sitting Bulls (AUT). Euro League 2 groups will be hosted by P.D.M Treviso and KKI VRBAS Banja Luka (BIH).

Euro League 3 is split into three groups which will be hosted by Meylan Grenoble Handibasket (FRA), LTRSN Lodz (POL), and Megas Alexandros ’94 (GRE).

Following the preliminary rounds of Euro League, the finals will then take place from Thursday 25th April to Sunday 28th April 2019. Euro League 1 Final (also known as the André Vergauwen Cup) will be hosted in Sheffield (GBR). Euro League 2 Final (also known as the Willi Brinkmann Cup) will be hosted in Porto Potenza (ITA), and Euro League 3 Final (also known as The Challenge Cup) will be hosted by Vigo (ESP).

The Euro League competition finale will finish with the Champions Cup Final 4 which will be held from Friday 2nd May to Sunday 5th May 2019, with a host yet to be announced.

Thirteen clubs remain on the reserve list for the competition.

For more information on Euro League Competition please visit IWBF Europe’s website.

Photo Credit: FotoBSR


Euro League 2019 allocations