All sixteen teams who will participate in the wheelchair basketball competition at the Lima 2019 Parapan American Games have now been confirmed.

Following the conclusion of the Men’s 2018 South America Championships, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia secured the last three places in the men’s wheelchair basketball competition. They will join Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, USA and hosts Peru who were already confirmed.

Eight teams Mexico, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Peru, and the USA will form the women’s wheelchair basketball competition in Lima.

The Lima 2019 Parapan American Games will act as the Americas Zone qualification tournament for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games. Only the top two placed teams in the women’s competitions will qualify for Tokyo along with the top three placed teams in the men’s competition.