IWBF Americas is pleased to confirm that all the National Paralympic Committees with teams eligible to compete in LIMA 2019 have accepted their spots.

Wheelchair Basketball Teams

The women’s division will have Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, USA and host Peru competing for the two spots at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.  The teams will be placed in two groups of four with semi-finals August 29 and medal games August 30.

In the men’s division Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Mexico, Puerto Rico, USA and host Peru will compete for the three spots at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games. The teams will also be drawn in two groups with quarter-finals August 28, semi-finals August 30 and medal games August 31.

Wheelchair basketball will take place from August 24 – 31 2019. The draw for the groups is scheduled to take place on May 17 during the final site visit by Steve Bach.

International Technical Officials

IWBF Americas also confirmed the technical officials that will be present in Lima. Technical Delegate Steve Bach (CAN) will be supported by Tournament Technical Committee Members, Assistant Technical Delegate Maureen Orchard (CAN), Regina Costa (POR) and Cristian Roja (ITA).

Chief classifier Anne Lachance (CAN) will be joined by Roberto Sanchez (ARG), Wouter Terryn (BEL), Patricia Reis (BRA), Maria Luisa Sarmiento (PER) and Doug Garner (USA).

The Game Commissioners are Juan Magallanes (MEX), Ricardo De Souza (BRA), and Hugo Begazo (PER).

The referee supervisors are Jorge Bestilleiro (ARG), Sergio Giordano (CAN) and Jon Burford (USA).

The referees at the games will be Mati Quintana (ARG), Cristian Colombatti (ARG), Joao Fortes (BRA), Gustavo Mathias (BRA), Sebastien Gautier (CAN), Alexandre Lapointe (CAN), Enzo Fernandez (CHI), Paula Castro (CHI), Mauricio Gamez (CRC), Diego Tapia (MEX), Benjamin Ovando (GUA), Axel Coll (PUR), Darrell Hargreaves (USA), Jaime Oseguera (USA), Diego Borghini (URU) and Tomas Pajer (CZE).

Image courtesy of Wheelchair Basketball Canada