The Netherlands’ Mariska Beijer has been selected as a finalist for the Women’s Sports Foundation 2019 TEAM Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Vote now

Every year the Women’s Sports Foundation hosts an Annual Salute to Women in Sports, where they recognize an individual sport athlete and team sport athlete whose performances over a 12-month time span have been exceptional. Past winners include Venus and Serena Williams, Abby Wambach, Meryl Davis, Simone Biles, Yani Tseng and Candace Parker.

Beijer, has been unstoppable in the game of women’s wheelchair basketball over the past year, part of the Netherlands team that has won both a World and European title. She was named as the Most Valuable Player at the 2018 IWBF World Championships and then went on to lead the statistics at the 2019 Women’s European Wheelchair Basketball Championship with points per game (24.3), was second in rebounds per game (11.4) and averaged 1.4 steals per game this June.

Beijier said “It is such an honour to represent our beloved sport in such an unbelievable list. This is the cherry on top of a fabulous year where I (and the team) worked hard to set standards higher, never satisfied, always hungry for more.”

Athletes were considered for this year’s award based on their athletic achievements between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019 and we named 10 finalists in individual sports and 10 in team sports.

The public and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee select the award winners by a 50-50 vote. The winners will be those two athletes who receive the highest combined share of a public vote (50% of composite) and the Awards Committee vote (50% of the composite).

Make sure you vote for Mariska Beijer to help her be crowned 2019 Sportswoman of the Year –

Public Voting will will conclude 11:59pm EST, August 2, 2019.

Photo courtesy of Steffie Wunderl Fotografie