The IWBF Americas’ new Executive Council for the 2023-2027 term was elected during the recent IWBF Americas Congress held at the Santiago 2023 Parapan Am Games. Representatives of 16 members from the Zone were present at the Congress to receive reports and updates on the progress made over the previous four years as well as elect the new Executive Council.

In the election, all positions except for the Vice President of the Central America & Caribbean Region, were uncontested and elected by acclamation. Steve Bach (Canada), retained his position as President, leading the charge for the IWBF Americas.

The elected members maintaining their previous roles include Jon Burford from the United States as Vice President of the North America Region, Cristina Rosello from Uruguay as Vice President of the South America Region, Anne LaChance from Canada as Classification Officer, and Jorge Basterilloro from Argentina as Technical Officer.

Two new additions have joined the leadership lineup, bringing diverse expertise to the IWBF Americas. Sileno Santos of Brazil takes on the crucial role of Competition Chairman, responsible for the strategic planning and execution of wheelchair basketball events within the region. Meanwhile, Brandon McBeain from the USA assumes the Chair of the Development Commission, emphasizing the organization’s commitment to fostering the growth and inclusivity of the sport.

A closely contested election took place for the position of Vice-President for the Central America & Caribbean Region. Marta De Acajabon from Guatemala emerged victorious after a vote among the nations from the region.

As Maureen Orchard concludes her term as Secretary General, her invaluable contributions and dedication to the IWBF Americas are celebrated. Maureen Orchard will transition to the role of interim Treasurer until a suitable candidate is appointed to this position in the near term. The outgoing members of the Executive Council from the previous term, including Dilka Benítez (VP Central America and the Caribbean), Rui Marques (Chairperson of the Development Commission), and Sergio Giordano (Treasurer), are acknowledged for their tireless efforts and significant contributions to the Americas Zone.

In the initial meeting of the newly constituted Executive Committee, President Steve Bach made a strategic appointment by designating Juan Magallanes from Mexico as the Secretary-General. Magallanes, previously in the role of Competition Chair, brings a wealth of experience to the administrative aspects of the organization.

The composition of the IWBF Americas Executive Council for the 2023-2027 term is as follows:

  • Steve Bach, Canada: President / Presidente
  • Marta de Acajabon, Guatemala: Vice-President Central America & Caribbean Region / Vice-Presidente Región Centro América & Caribe
  • Cristina Rosello, Uruguay: Vice-President South America Region / Vice-Presidente Región Sur América
  • Jon Burford, United States: Vice-President North America Region / Vice-Presidente Región Norte
  • Sileno Santos, Brazil: Competition Officer / Oficial de Competencia
  • Anne LaChance, Canada: Classification Officer / Oficial de Clasificación
  • Jorge Bestilleiro, Argentina: Technical Officer / Oficial Técnico
  • Brandon McBeain, USA: Development Officer / Oficial de Desarrollo
  • Maureen Orchard, Canada: Treasurer / Tesorera
  • Juan Magallanes, Mexico: Secretary General / Secretario General

The newly elected Executive Council is poised to guide the IWBF Americas in achieving its goals, to grow wheelchair basketball throughout the region.