Eight players will make up the new IWBF Players’ Commission, established to give international wheelchair basketball players a platform and a common voice in the governance of global wheelchair basketball.

Paralympians Annegrit Brießmann (Germany)Hiroaki Kozai (Japan), and John Boie (USA), and 3X3 International Michelle Moganedi (South Africa) will join the original four players who were part of the IWBF Athlete Steering Committee – Ella Sabljak (Australia)Terry Bywater (Great Britain)Alhassan Sedky (Egypt), and Erica Gavel (Canada).

The IWBF Players’ Commission election process was opened in November 2021 and following the nomination procedure, IWBF received four candidates. Each of the four Zones had exactly one candidate, all meeting the criteria and representing the specific requirements of the IWBF Players’ Commission Policy. On account of only one candidate per Zone and a low number of international players registered to vote in the planned election, the IWBF Executive Council decided in an online meeting on Friday 28 January 2022 to appoint the four candidates by acclamation.

The composition of the commission is equal across all four Zones with two players per Zone, one male, one female, and no more than one representative per country.

Currently, the IWBF Players’ Commission is considered a “provisional commission” as per the IWBF General Statutes. During the 2022 IWBF World Congress (to be held in Dubai later this year), it will be proposed to incorporate the Commission as a standing body within IWBF’s governance structure and to have the chairperson of the Commission as a full voting member of the IWBF Executive Council. A draft of which will be presented to the IWBF Congress in 2022 for approval by its members.

A member of the IWBF Players’ Commission is invited as a non-voting guest to the IWBF Executive Council meetings to voice their perspective on key issues until the elected Players’ Commission has been established and integrated into the governance of the sport.

If players wish to liaise with the Commission, or if you require any support or guidance, please contact the IWBF Players’ Commission via the e-mail players@iwbf.org.