South Africa’s Michelle Moganedi has been elected to the IWBF Players’ Commission as the female representation for the Africa Zone.

Moganedi is a student-athlete at the University of Johannesburg, she made her international debut for South Africa last year.  A relative newcomer to the international stage, she hopes to add a fresh perspective, saying:

“To be part of the first-ever IWBF Players’ Commission feels exciting as much as it is refreshing. With this position, I am given I hope to bring new ideas and a lot of growth.”

The 20-year-old who is studying for a Batchelor of Engineering Technology in Extraction Metallurgy led the team South Africa 3×3 women’s team to gold at the IWBF Africa 3×3 Commonwealth Games Qualifier late last year. She added:

“I believe the Players’ Commission is going to assist IWBF and wheelchair basketball in a massive way, it will fill up a gap that has been begging to be filled for a very long time.”

Moganedi added:

“My hopes for wheelchair basketball in the future is growth and nothing more but success.”

Eight players will make up the new IWBF Players’ Commission, established to give international wheelchair basketball players a platform and a common voice in the governance of global wheelchair basketball. Paralympians Annegrit Brießmann (Germany), Hiroaki Kozai (Japan), and John Boie (USA), and 3X3 International Michelle Moganedi (South Africa) will join the original four players who were part of the IWBF Athlete Steering Committee – Ella Sabljak (Australia), Terry Bywater (Great Britain), Alhassan Sedky (Egypt), and Erica Gavel (Canada).