In anticipation of the inaugural IWBF Men’s and Women’s Repechage Tournaments, a team of 48 officials has been nominated to oversee the final qualification stage for the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

2024 IWBF Men’s Repechage in Antibes, France: 12 – 15 April

Hosted by Fédération Française Handisport, the Men’s Repechage competition will be overseen by a Tournament Technical Committee led by Technical Director Craig Moorgas (RSA), supported by Assistant Technical Director David Kingstone (GBR) and IWBF Technical Chair Cristian Roja (ITA).

The team of 12 referees chosen to officiate the games includes Matias Quintana (ARG), Tomas Pajer (CZE), Juan Hernandez (MEX), Natascha Onono (RSA), Drazen Strok (CRO), Hector Carmona (ESP), Zijian Geng (CHN), Yaniv Hadad (ISR), Gustavo Mathias (BRA), Hiroki Ono (JPN), Patricia Diaz (ESP), and Shu-Fei Hsieh (TPE). Referee Supervisors Tonia Gomez (ESP) and Damir Kunosic (BIH) will ensure the standards are maintained.

Heading the Classification team is IWBF Classification Chair Regina Costa (POR), accompanied by Classifiers Leandre Swanepoel (RSA), Jayne Chilutti (USA), Gabriela Deda Erbenova (CZE), and Jin Yan Tan (MAS).

Game Commissioners will be Juan Magallanes (MEX) and Jovana Krivokuca-Milovanovic (SRB).


2024 IWBF Women’s Repechage in Osaka, Japan: 17 – 20 April

The Women’s Repechage in Osaka, Japan, hosted by the Japanese Wheelchair Basketball Federation, Tournament Technical Committee will be led by Technical Director and IWBF Competitions Chair Charlie Bethel (GBR), assisted by Don Perriman (AUS) and Sergio Giordano (CAN).

The 12 selected referees for the Women’s Repechage are Poh Boon Yap (MAS), Milutin Jelenic (SRB), Pedro Vasquez (CHI), Veronica Restuccia (UAE), Fengqin Wang (CHN), Hrvoje Pencinger (CRO), Marco Graziani (ITA), Chih-Hsin Hsiao (TPE), Shuet Mei Ho (SIN), Jae-geun Lee (KOR), Adam Fronczak (POL), and Arnold Moseya (RSA). Referee Supervisors Eisuke Kanno (JPN) and Guglielmo Bianchi (ITA) will provide the overview of the officiating.

Bartosz Molik (POL) will serve as Chief Classifier, with a Classification team composed of Sonja Mohnen (GER), Jenny Brandford (AUS), Raul Cembrano (PHI), and Susan Ercolin (ITA).

Game Commissioners will be Stefania Marson (ITA) and Kean Koo Ang (MAS).

With excitement mounting for these historic tournaments, the combined expertise of these international officials assures a consistent standard of officiating at the event and ensuring a spectacle showcase of wheelchair basketball.

Stay tuned for further updates as the 2024 IWBF Repechage Tournaments draw near.